.38 Super - Questions?

jitdc

I'm fairly new to handguns and have been trying to research and learn as much as possible. So I asked myself, "does someone make a .38 special semi-auto?" Couldn't find any but I found the .38 super. What is the difference between the .38 special and .38 super, in terms I can understand and why is there not a semi-auto in .38 special? Not saying one should be made, just wondering why not? Just a few questions from a newbie.

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

It's because of the rim. 38S is a semi rimmed round allowing for better extraction. 38 special is a fully rimmed case that will cause problems for an extractor (to get the right tension). Then there is 38SC or super comp which is rimless like a 9, 40, 45acp etc.

I have seen semi autos built in 38 special but to get them to run can be tricky to say the least.

JIT:_______________

....What is the difference between the .38 special and .38 super ...

RE: your question. Others have answered the 38 special vs 38 super rim question very well; so i wanted to give you a bit of history regarding the super.