The Citizen's Guide to Surviving Police Encounters

Guest strelcevina

• Replies 135
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

If you want to know how to best protect yourself for a criminal trail; ask a lawyer.

If you want to know how to survive a traffic stop; ask a cop.

Telling someone to lock their car on a traffic stop, refuse any request to search, and to invoke their 5<SUP>th</SUP> amendment rights in all cases is as irresponsible as telling someone to allow a search in all cases.

As a former cop I have tried my best to explain to my kids how to survive a traffic stop. I wish it was as easy as the lawyers make it look, but it isn’t. There are to many variables involved.

Intelligent decisions need to be made based on the circumstances. A minor drug possession or a DUI arrest can seriously impact a kid’s future. If you are going to instruct your kids on what to do you need to be clear that you are giving them good information.

I have done more traffic stops that any attorney I know. You may not or agree with what cops have to say but you need to listen to both sides (cops and criminal defense attorneys) and make an informed decision.

Thinking that “Flexing your rights†will result in you driving away with everyone in your car high fiving and saying “you are the man!†is laughable.

Be informed; know the law.

As always, I have a mixed perspective.

This video is basically a ACLU video. But that doesn't necessarily make it bad.

Cops are trained to intimidate you into giving up your rights. There are things you should not admit and you should not permit your vehicle to be searched without reason.