Building an AR-22

SO there's a pile of extra parts I have accumulated in my shop, including an upper receiver with hairline crack at the rear that I don't want to use for centerfire. So, I'll build a dedicated 22LR. I've never even seen a dedicated AR in 22LR. What's different? I see the CMMG barrels and BCG's at Midway. Looks good. How's it work? Do you need the AR spring and buffer?

Admittedly, I don't even own a .22 rifle anymore. Haven't for a while. I am custodian of my mother-in-law's Henry, but none for me. Looks like a good opportunity to remedy that.

• Replies 3
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

It goes together just like a regular AR. The only thing it does not use the the buffer and recoil spring. I recently put one together using a CMMG barrel and Ciener conversion. With a dedicated barrel you need the barrel collar that replaces the chamber insert on the conversion bolt.

I have been using a 22lr AR for training since 2005. Back then I used a Ciener with the chamber insert. That conversion kit had 15K-20K rounds through it before I built a dedicated gun. The dedicated gun was built about a year ago and has to have at least 10K on it now.

The only magazines to use with the conversion are the Black Dog magazines. If you do not use the CMMG Evolution kit that has its own bolt hold open setup you need to get the bolt hold open followers for the Black Dog Magazines.

5 Pack Bolt Hold Open Followers

What they do is keep the bolt form dropping on an empty chamber. The reason why this is so important is the firing pins are a bit fragile on these and dryfiring can cause the firing pin to break. I had several broken firing pins before using these followers and none since. When you remove the magazine the bolt drops but it prevents you from accidnetally dryfiring the gun.