H&R Pardner vs Maverick 88?

Looking at getting a 20ga in either the Pardner or 88 so I can introduce my better half to squirrel hunting, and use it myself from time to time. Even though I can't find one in the Knoxville area, I'm looking at these because of the price.

Does anyone have any thoughts on which of the two would be the better one to choose? This is my first time buying a shotgun for hunting, so idk.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 4 Beta
Edited by wewoapsiak
I like the Pardner better. It is an 870 clone with a better heavier receiver and beefier parts. The Maverick's are fine guns, but are a cheaper versions of the budget 500. They also loose the benefit of the Mossberg over the 870's in that they use a cross bolt safety instead of the tang safety.
If you like the Mossberg, bump up and get a 500. If not the Pardner is an excellent option. I've had several and really like them.
  • Like 1
Guest Aces&8s

I have two Pardners, one 20 gauge and one 12.  I like the 20 gauge fine, but when I first got it, the left side shell latch was very stiff and it would sometimes fail to release a shell when the pump was worked.  After a lot of use, it finally smoothed out, but I still have that nagging fear that it might fail when I need it most (maybe not a huge concern for a squirrel gun).  

My 12 gauge Pardner has been flawless from day one, however.

I can't stand the tang safeties because you can't use a pistol grip. Makes it very hard and awkward to work the safety.

Personally I like the 88 better than the Pardner pump. The reason is Mossberg parts work with the 88. WIth the Pardner pump the barrels supposedly do not interchange. I do know that all the bolt holes are metric on the Pardner so when you replace the stocks with 870 stuff you need to buy the metric screws.

• Like 1

I can't stand the tang safeties because you can't use a pistol grip. Makes it very hard and awkward to work the safety.