Opinions/experience wanted

Guest BigBoostDSM

Guest BigBoostDSM

Hey guys, I am new to TN and I plan on taking my carry class in the next couple of weeks. I'm in Knoxville, I plan on taking the class at the gun shop in Turkey Creek (Not sure of the name of it). The pricing is 75 dollars if I remember correctly.

I'm a pretty decent shot (2-3" groups at 15 yards). I read over the shooting part of the class and it got me worried. I'm not the greatest shot at long range (25 yards is what the site said). I mean, I hit the paper and the silhouette the majority of the time, but my groupings are pretty awful at that distance.

So first off, has anyone taken the class at the turkey creek shop (Or know the name of it). I'd also like to hear where else anyone has taken the class at, I'm not commited to taking the class there that's just where I've seen the greatest price (that really doesn't bother me either, I'm willing to spend more for a better class). If you've got any recommendations please let me know.

Second, any tips for the shooting part of the class? I plan to hit the range a few times before I go, but I'm still pretty nervous about the long range shooting. Any tips, pointers, experience, etc. would be very much appreciated.

Oh, and I love living in a free state! I came here from IL so having rights is nice :D

• Replies 64
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

The shooting portion of the class is a piece of cake. If you can shoot 3" groups at 15 yards, you'll have no problem. The price for the class is about right and it's pretty basic, as most classes conform to the state's requirements. You'll hear the legal aspects of carrying, basic safety, watch the movie that the state supplies, and get a general basic handgun information session. I wouldn't worry a bit about taking it.