XD Safety (I'M NOT TRYING TO START A FLAME WAR!!)

Guest bigbuck_tn

Guest bigbuck_tn

Ok everyone I am NOT trying to start a fight about anything. I am merely stating facts and as I know them and would like to open the floor up to debate.:stir:

I am a Glock person. I don't own a XD. My brother does and I plan on trying to talk him into letting me take it apart next time I go home for the weekend.

I have read alot of comparisons about the Glock and XD and alot of people state that XD is much safer than the Glock. So being an engineer I decided to do a DOE to see what I can find out.

Glock:

1. The striker is pre-loaded between 8 and 11/64th of an inch when cocked and the trigger fully forward.

2. Pulling the trigger fully loads the striker an addition 8/64th before the cruciform begins dropping down and after an additional 1 to 2/64ths of travel lets the striker move forwards. (Can't measure the drop well with a scale)

3. While this is happening the cruciform is moving backwards in a channel on the drop safety and only when it gets beyond the 8/64ths can it drop down and allow the striker to move forwards.

4. There is also a striker plunger that is fully disengaged within I think 5 to 6/64ths of travel that is completely blocking the firing pin hole in the breechface. (couldn't measure this well)

Again, I don't own and XD but I have done research on the net and I intend to try and take one apart soon.

XD:

1. Striker is fully cocked except for approximately 10 thousandths that it moves when the trigger is pulled.

2. As the trigger is being pulled the trigger bar pushes back on the striker safety lever (item #40 in the exploded diagram) which rotates the sear and drops it out of engagement with the tail of the firing pin letting it go forward.

3. The grip safety has a notch that prevents the sear from rotating when it is not engaged. See below.

http://gunshopping.blogspot.com/2007/09/springfield-xd-does-it-quack-like-duck.html