Storing ammo ?

Storing ammo.

I am running out of room in my gun safe. I do have a metal locker I was using as a temp safe until I bought a gun safe.

My question is would you feel safe with only your ammo in a metal locker? It has 3 locks down the side and is bolted to the floor and wall from the insides.

I know ammo should be treated as dangerous as a gun in the wrong hands but would a thief take time to get just ammo?

Am I worrying too much and just use the locker? Or keep it stacked in the Gun safe.

No its not fire proof but its all I have at the moment.

Maybe I should buy a new fire proof safe just for ammo?

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I think you'd be just fine with the locker you've described.

As far as ammo and a fire goes, I'm no expert, but I've seen people throw ammo directly into a fire without any serious reaction. The ammo made a "pop" noise, but that was about it. Again, I'm not an expert. Maybe someone with real experience can chime in.

Edited by TripleDigitRide

Back in the dark ages when I was in ROTC, they were just coming out with MREs so we still got to eat C rations. You could get in more trouble tossing the peanut butter or jelly cans in the fire than you would tossing the blanks so you didn't have to clean your weapon so hard.

We would go "non tactical" every now and then on the FTXs and there was always some bozo who thought the fire was a trash barrel. Those things would go off like bombs.

(for Jung, H Co, 2/278th ACR TNNG, last year of college, 2/17th FA Korea, B Co, 319th MI BN (ABN) and HHC 37th Eng, (CBT ABN)

Fear the combat communicator (25C)

Hijack over.

Guest gcrookston
That is a lot of .22LR there Gcrookston!:rolleyes: