Taking the photoshop plung, what have I gotten into?

So I recently bought a Nikon D40X camera with some lenses. Walking around in Walmart the other day, I saw Photoshop Elements 8 and bought it. Any advice on how to learn how to use this thing. I have no photoshop experience, and after loading and opening it, not real sure I want any...................

Insert learning advice below.........

Edited by hardknox00001
  • Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest Glock23ForMe

There are a number of good tutorials on youtube, grant it, some of them are done by like 15 year olds, but they are pretty good and get to the point. If all else fails, just play with it till you figure something out..

Few general tips, regardless of imaging program used.

- Save original picture file, whatever format it is in, untouched.

- Do NOT work with pic with multiple resaves in JPEG; use TIFF or PSD (PSD will often be significantly smaller). You can use compressed TIFF (LZW) but takes longer to open and may not open in some older editing programs).

Everytime you close a JPEG, reopen, edit, and resave, you corrupt image more. JPEG should be a final output option only, and even then best only for onscreen use. (JPEG achieves smaller image size by throwing away information - and of course you can vary the JPEG quality setting, but it looses info at all settings). TIFF, PSD, even the clunky old BMP are non-lossy formats. Disk space is the cheapest part of computing.

- Always resample (resize in pixels) DOWNward. You can't really upsize ("uprez") very much ... interpolated (made-up) pixels simply smooth but soften image.

- Don't use sharpening/unsharp mask until last step at actual output size. Save your edited pic in TIFF or PSD unsharpened. Sharpening is an undoable function, and of course the same level of sharpening affects different size pics differently. Best to not use in-camera sharpening unless you expect to use image as is out of the cam.