New To Shotguns, Before I Buy My First

hazmatt

I will likely be buying my first shotgun in the coming weeks. I will likely buy a 12g pump with a 20" barrel and full length tube magazine. I have not decided on what brand of shotty I will buy yet. But, it would be used for home defense and target plinking fun, if you can consider shooting a 12g plinking :D

I have done enough research to know that rifled slugs can be shot through a improved cylinder bore. However, here are a few questions...

1. In IC shotguns, that do not use different chokes, does the bore gradually decrease in size, or does it only decrease toward the end of the barrel?

2. Does it make a difference whether the change in bore is gradual or only toward the end of the barrel?

3. If I decide to buy a shotgun that has a full bore, and uses replaceable chokes, can I still shoot slugs through a IC choke?

Maybe I am just over thinking this, but I am a newbie and I would rather be informed than remain in the dark.

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

1.) generally they start to taper towards the end of the muzzle.

2.) not really.

3.) yes.

Anyway I own two Mossberg 500's (a 12g & a 20g), a Mossberg 590A1 (12g) & a Remington 870 (12g) all use replaceable chokes except the 590A1 which is a fixed cylinder bore.

For what you are looking for, a 20" for home defense & plinking the 590A1 is hard to beat, but for hunting or shooting clays I usually use a 500 ((or rarely the 870) instead.

Guest bkelm18

Thank you Richard, I am thinking about a Mossberg Maverick 88 as my first. However, I may go ahead and get a 500 instead.

Nothing wrong with a Maverick. Great value shotgun.

Nothing wrong with a Maverick. Great value shotgun.