So I removed the grip safety on my XD last night...

Guest GUTTERbOY

Guest GUTTERbOY

As part of the continuing saga of my extra-corrosive sweat, I was noticing some discoloration on the side of the grip safety level. Looked like it'd be annoying to get to with the grip safety on the gun, so I resolved to remove it, give it a thorough cleaning and CLPing, and then go forward with my life. Little did I know what i was getting into.

Now, I'm by no means a mechanical moron. Part of my genetic makeup is the innate desire to disassemble every item within a three-mile radius and figure out how it works, so this is a skill I've been honing since I was about five years old. The reassembling skills took a little longer to develop, but they're fairly mature at this point, too.

Anyway, I first sought out a good illustrated guide to the inner workings of the XD before i just started knocking pins out all willy-nilly. Found a pretty good detail strip guide over at xd-hs2000.com, and observed that the only thing behind the safety lever was the spring for it. nice and straightforward, just knock the pin out, do my thing, and reassemble.

Steps one and two went down without a hitch, as expected. However, it was at the reassembly stage that things began to go south. See, the guide I looked at didn't really show very well how the spring was positioned. No problem, I figured- after looking at the parts, I figured out how the spring went in there- or so I thought.

I then began attempting to insert the safety and spring back into their cozy home. Clearly, I was doing something wrong, because the spring kept popping out of place riiiiiiight when I almost had it in place. This happened over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over until I was about ready to start chucking tools across the garage. During this time, I kept going back and looking at the strip guide to see if there was something obvious I was doing wrong.