I need some recomendations:

Guest Rick O'Shay

Guest Rick O'Shay

An older woman I work with called me this evening wanting my assistance in walking her through the permitting process and in purchasing a gun.

Here is the situation: She, like I said, is older with limited arm strength, she is a tiny thing. She will probably have difficulty racking a slide although I will be taking her to the range to test that. Many years ago she used to shoot, so is not total novice to firearms. On the call she mentioned she thought she should get a .38 snubbie and I did not argue the point, although I intend to steer her towards a semi-auto of some type. The problem is I am unfamiliar with compact double action semi-autos (I am a 1911 man myself) and could use some suggestions for a starting point on the search. Any and all suggestions, with a short explanation of why, are welcome.

Thanks.

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Have her look at Springfield XD9 sub-compact, Glock 26, or anything in the Kahr series. Make sure she pulls the gun up to her chest, holds the slide, and pushes the gun downward, not trying to pull the slide to her. This is a common mistake people make when they have trouble racking the slide.

The smaller DA semi-autos I mentioned tend to not have a heavy recoil spring and make racking the slide easier. That being said if she is having trouble with it, help her find a good revolver.

Not saying you are or would, but always remember to never let personal bias influence another person's gun purchase. Think about why you would steer her toward a semi-auto or vice-versa if it were another case. Good luck buddy!