Lefty holster for Righty 6 oclock carry?

I'm new to carrying and I'm looking at an MTAC for my XD subcompact. I'm right handed. ISTM that 6 o'clock is the most concealed spot because of the hollow area created by the small of my back/butt crack. If that's the case, wouldn't a left-handed holster work better by pointing the grip towards the right side for easier grabnbing by my right hand?

I can see how with a lefty holster I would have the muzzle pointed inwards towards me while drawing it around with my right hand and that's a big negative. But the motion of twisting my right arm around at the shoulder to garb grips that are poinetd towards my left side feels awkward. Though it keeps the muzzle pointed away from my right side as I draw it around.

What are your thoughts on this? Is 6 o'clock too far back? Does that position allow too much movement, especially while sitting down?

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

Of course, let me be the first to jump in here, that should you fall on your butt, you WILL completely shatter every vertebra from tip of your coccyx to L1 and push your kidneys out onto the ground through your navel! ;)

But seriously, a lot of SOB carriers do the "left for right" thing.

Just depends on how your elbow and wrist hinge and whether you have arthritis or anything.

My man David Bullard recommends that with one of his holsters, the Texas Conceal Carry. Here's for a righthander:

IMG_6064.JPG

holsters%20001.JPG

- OS

Edited by OhShoot
Guest Broomhead

That all just seems backwards to me. I carry SOB the majority of the time and I have to have the butt pointed to the left. For me it is easier to slide my thumb between my back and the gun than it is to slide the rest of my hand in there. That's just they way I am.