Training question?

mav

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Good question. How would you define "marathon"? For that matter I would be interested in knowing the length of your shorter practice sessions, too. As a newbie, I love to shoot and an hour goes by very fast to me. I always seem to burn all the ammo I bring to the range.

Cheers...

Guest Lester Weevils

Mav shoots better and more often than me, so can't offer constructive advice. I usually burn 200 or 300 rounds, with the majority in .22. In warm weather maybe 3 or 4 range trips a month if lucky.

That thing about burning all yer ammo at the range--

It probably varies depending on range rules and situation. Also perhaps whether you have a carry license, if being squeaky-legal pedantic.

But I always have my carry gun ready to go at the range. Just in case something unfortunate happens.

I usually alternate between two or more guns when practicing. All the guns except the carry gun, when I'm not shooting them, they are open-action and unloaded. Typical range safety procedures.

When I practice-shoot with the carry gun, I have another mag loaded for it sitting on the bench before I shoot the carry gun. Then after shooting the carry gun I pop in the full mag and reholster the carry gun before I turn to load or shoot another gun.

That might be against the rules some places. It just seems a reasonable precaution at a non-supervised range. Would be a shame for something bad to happen, and have a bench of unloaded guns sitting there, and no way to defend yerself--

Guest mosinon

Not a big shooter, though I'd like to be.

My experience has been if you're getting better when you practice, practice more. If you keep practicing and keep getting the same result, study more.