Advise me on the 1099-MISC that was given to my son

I think he was an employee. He's 18, a college student but did some work for a "professional" business as a helper/assistant/apprentice in the field he's studying to be in upon graduation. He does not own or run a business to be self employed yet the tax program I'm running wants him to enter info into schedule C. It's not a bunch of money, under 2 grand for the year but I think they were incorrect in giving him a 1099 at the end of the year if they classify him as some type of contract or self employed worker. He should have filed quarterlys right?

Won't discuss the actual business but if someone with experience in this could assist it would be most appreciated.

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I work as an independent contractor regularly, though not as a "business", per se. Any business that pays me over $600 in a year is required to send me a 1099, and I have to pay taxes on it. Basically double what I would pay as an employee, since the "employer" is not paying taxes.

Sounds to me like he got the correct form, and he'll have to send it in on a schedule C. It sucks BIG TIME. I end up shelling out about $5000/year. If more people saw how much tax they were paying, they would be much more angry about it, as I am.

As an independent contractor you aren't required to file quarterly, but you have to pay a penalty if you don't. I think its like $60 or something. Worth it, if you ask me, to not have to do taxes 4 times a year. I freaking hate it.

1099 forms are going to be a LOT more common if they can't fix up the obamacare bill.

--------

My wife is a Care Giver, technically self employed, and gets a 1099...last year while her sister that choses to only work 12 hours a week to get tencare, food stamps, say her and her husband are seperated, say she is head of household "b"...got to blow 3300 bucks, while we had to pay almost 4200 in. FML.