Thinking About Taking The 1911 Plunge

Guest darkstar

Guest darkstar

I'm considering a 1911 style .45 for my next purchase (which may be later rather than sooner). After some preliminary research I have to admit I'm a bit overwhelmed as there are many choices. I'm completely new to the world of the 1911's but here are some rough guidelines as to what I'm looking for:

No Big Bucks. This will be a range / carry gun, I don't need a $2,000 super deluxe competition model.

Quality. While I don't want to spend huge money I do want a quality firearm. Again, I'm not needing something for competition but I do want something reliable, well made, and a good value.

Size. I would prefer something along the lines of a compact size pistol, but that is not written in stone, something for comfortable carry would be perfect. Don't want a micro, but also do not want a giganto full size behemoth.

Pretty easy to please huh? Anyone with any reccomendations would be appreciated. I would consider a used pistol if it were in very good shape ( I know I may have to go that route due to the prices of new, quality pistols). Are there any good quality new 1911's for say around $700 or less? Or is that an impossibility? I know from looking at some Kimbers your talking upwards of $800-$1,000 and higher. What about that new Taurus 1911 model? I previously owned a Tarus revolver (some time ago) and I always thought it was a pretty decent gun, but that was a revolver not a 1911.

Any help is thanked for in advance.

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

A LOT of people I shoot with (competitively) are having many issues with their Kimbers. I had a CDP and was terribly disappointed with it (no, it did not have the troublesome external extractor). Kimbers were the shiznit when they first came out, but their quality control has gone to hell, possibly due to the fact that they have grown and expanded their lineup so quickly.

Guest HexHead