I just backed up my computer..

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I used to use Ghost, until it wanted to trash boot sector of a new box.

There's a marvelous freeware from RunTime called DriveImage XML I've been using for several years now.

Images entire drive, compressed, allows total restore or individual files, writes sector by sector XML file for the restore map.

Doesn't run automated or do incremental backups, but does very well for my needs, backing up to external SeaGate via firewire...

http://www.runtime.org/driveimage-xml.htm

- OS

Good deal...I have been looking for some good, easy to use, cheap image software.

Could you use the Scheduled Task to run DriveImage XML?

Hmmm, not sure FG...

I'm sure you could start the proggie with it, but you have to specify a few things every time, like backup/restore, source/destination, etc, and there's no command line structure to the thing AFAIK.

There are a lot of free keystroke/macro recorders though, where you can make a shortcut to run a program with actions/parameters, and some of those allow scheduling, or you could call a shortcut made with one of those with Windows Scheduling...

I just do it every now and then, usually on way to bed...it's pretty fast, though and you can work while it does its thing, although that slows it and you down. Does about 25 GB data in 15 min or so unfettered.

- OS

Hmmm, not sure FG...

I'm sure you could start the proggie with it, but you have to specify a few things every time, like backup/restore, source/destination, etc, and there's no command line structure to the thing AFAIK.

There are a lot of free keystroke/macro recorders though, where you can make a shortcut to run a program with actions/parameters, and some of those allow scheduling, or you could call a shortcut made with one of those with Windows Scheduling...