Concealed Carry

Guest Jamesmb

Guest Jamesmb

Hi,

I am new to handguns, just bought my first less then a month ago and was wondering on the back ground check to get your concealed carry is that like buying a new handgun and the nics check? Also what else do you have to do and how long does this take?

Thanks,

James

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome to the forum!!!

In order to get a carry permit in Tennessee, you basically have to do three things.

1. Take a carry class.

2. Pay $115 at the driver's liscense station along with filing an application.

3.) Get fingerprinted.

That's really it. I did those three in two days and now I am just waiting for the permit to come in. Here is the state website for info on this...

http://www.tennessee.gov/safety/handgunmain.htm

Also, about the check at the store...that is different. That is a very quick on the spot check that just takes a minute.

Hope this helps!!! :)

Basically, if you pass the NICs check and do the class and other stuff, you will get the permit.

The class is very easy. Since you are new to handguns, you might want to take one of the better ones that gives you a couple of extra hours of gun orientation. Phantom6, here on the board, has an excellent class in Oak Ridge.

• Administrator

I can't help but wonder... are you worried about something on the background check? I only ask because lately we've had a few stories here about folks who passed the check and then subsequently had their permits revoked when the State discovered things like misdemeanor marijuana use on their criminal record.

If you're at all worried about something on your record, you might want to do some checking before you spend your money. :-\

Basically, if you pass the NICs check and do the class and other stuff, you will get the permit.