Question for the 1911 owners

Il Duce

Cocked and Locked. But I don't carry my 1911 all the time, not yet. I'm new to pistol shootin' and new to conceal carry. The 1911 conceals amazingly well for a full size pistol. Once I get a good CC holster I think I'll start carrying it often.

Cocked and Locked. With the thumb safety on the hammer can NOT fall forward even if magically the sear disappears or breaks in two.

BTW, I would not carry it on "half cock" it is not a safety in that respect. That notch on the hammer is there to prevent doubling if the sear hammer relationship gets worn to the point of malfunction. It is not to be used as a carry safety.

Guest peacexxl

Like it was designed, built, and meant to be carried... Cocked (hammer all the way back) and locked (thumb safety on) with a round in the chamber. Why argue with perfection?

Safety off, but half cocked. I can cock the hammer full on the draw. Thats safety enough for me.

Is this even safe? I had just been talking to a couple of guys yesterday, about a buddy of theirs that didn't realize he had it half cocked and shot himself and the dog he was petting when he bumped the hammer... (both survived, though his finger is no longer straight...)

Is this even safe? I had just been talking to a couple of guys yesterday, about a buddy of theirs that didn't realize he had it half cocked and shot himself and the dog he was petting when he bumped the hammer... (both survived, though his finger is no longer straight...)

Negative,

DO NOT carry this way, the 1911 was not designed for that you are asking for trouble if you choose to carry this way :):screwy:

Safety off, but half cocked. I can cock the hammer full on the draw. Thats safety enough for me.

If you are carrying a 1911 this way, do us all a favor and get rid of it, you obviously know nothing about the model 1911 the way you claim to carry: