Anyone still play D&D?

Caster

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

What do you take us for to openly admit that we were dicechuckers or cardfloppers?

I started paying 2nd Ed. in the late 80s with my father. They played a lot of D&D in the Navy when they were on deployment it seems.

I started playing M:tG in the early to mid 90s around the time of Revised.

I quit playing D&D around 2001 or so, when 3rd Ed. was becoming big, the D20 system simplified it and allowed a lot of casual players in, which was nice, but for those of us that began with AD&D, it was hard to imagine the concept of actually rolling a character and playing a campaign in the same night. Blasphemy I tell you.

I quit playing M:tG around the same time, one of my brothers is still big into it, he took me to a tourney a few years ago and I got my ass handed to me by a nine year old.

I cried.

I quit playing D&D around 2001 or so, when 3rd Ed. was becoming big, the D20 system simplified it and allowed a lot of casual players in, which was nice, but for those of us that began with AD&D, it was hard to imagine the concept of actually rolling a character and playing a campaign in the same night. Blasphemy I tell you.

3rd edition is crap. Simplifying the rules for the unintelligent masses is crap. It's supposed to be difficult to understand, it keeps the community close to one another.

Wish someone here played, I can't bring myself to throw these out.

3rd edition is crap. Simplifying the rules for the unintelligent masses is crap. It's supposed to be difficult to understand, it keeps the community close to one another.

Wish someone here played, I can't bring myself to throw these out.

I have a copy of the AD&D Players Manual and DM guide. I tried getting my wife into it, but she never dug it. She loves WoW though.

Here is some useless trivia though, my daughter's middle name is Takhisis.