New AR Build

that_guy

Hey guys, I'm kinda new to the firearms world, just got my first handgun and only own 3.5 long guns and an AR lower, and have been advised to purchase/build and AR type rifle. I have decided to build one and cannot decide what kind of build i should go with. I'm stuck between an m16a4 clone, and m16a1 clone, or something totally custom and "tacticool". I don't really want to spend $375 on a rail for the m16a4 clone, but kind of considering it. I'm fairly sure I want a 20" barrel, but cannot really find one with a 1:7 twist, and took me forever to find one with a 1:8 twist for about $150 or $270 for one with polygonal rifling.

Thanks in advance.

Edited by that_guy
What are you going to use it for? Where will it fit in with what you already have? You've got an ak74 and building a '47, correct? If so a longer barreled rifle (20") might be a good fit. If you go that way I'd recommend looking carefully at the weight of each component as with a heavier barrel, optic, and longer handguard, the weight can creep up on you fast.

You can keep the overall weight down, Dolomite has a 20" AR that comes in pretty light, around 6lbs if I recall right. On the other side of the coin I've got one that comes in at about 9-10lbs without bipod, scope, or mount. From reading his part list back when he built it I'd say most of the weight difference comes from the barrel and the handguard.

For me the extra weight isn't too big of a deal. It was built for the bench or other mostly stationary kinds of shooting. It's still light enough that it would work for a grab and go rifle, but it wouldn't be my first pick just based on having lighter options available.

I go with 50 Beowulf?

YES! YES. yes.... Jk. 5.56 will be your best bet. I been looking at building an A4 clone but carbines are much cheaper and a tac rail for 20" can get pricey fast. Have you considered a 18"? 

Have you considered a 18"?