Why coyote?

Okay, so I'm not a hunter. My dad wasn't a hunter, so I have no experience whatsoever (other than the half dozen or so deer I've had to shoot at work). I might have to talk a TGOer into taking me under their wing and learnin' me some stuff some day. Anyways, I know a lot of guys like hunting yotes. Why? I understand the other game that you eat, but what is the purpose of coyote hunting? Does it have to do with keeping the "predator" population down or what?

Keep in mind that I'm not being critical in any way, I'm just genuinely curious.

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Coyotes need controlled. In urban areas they are a threat to our children and pets. In the wilder areas, they kill deer, fawns, turkeys and any other desirable game animals. In farmland, they prey on calves, sheep, chickens and any thing else they take a notion to kill and eat. The coyote population is getting out of control. I do animal control (coyote and feral hog) on the side. Coyotes are getting out of hand, farmers complain about losing stock, but won't allow anyone to shoot them (don't allow hunting). Stop complaining then! Shoot everyone of them you see!

If you ever call one in you'll get it. It's like see a big buck during deer season, the heat starts pumping, the breathing picks up, etc. For me it's much more fun than deer hunting (just my 2cents). I also do some trapping for farmers that have sheep and goats. They can take a toll on farm animals and calling/trapping them can help make new friends (the farmer). Killing a few kiyotes can also help you pick up some deer hunting land!

Guest BEARMAN

Here's another reason they are a threat to human's.

This could just as easily have happened anywhere coyote's live. FWIW.

AP

Coyotes kill woman on hike in Canadian park

'Very unusual and is not likely to be repeated,' wildlife biologist says

6d49e4d1-048d-471d-8c95-2d5c95c44abf.grid-6x2.jpg