Anyone into ATVs?

56FordGuy

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

How many miles are a lot on one? I have no experience with them.

I need something to use around the farm, spraying fences and pulling firewood with. I'd like a 4x4. I may have the chance to buy an '02 Honda 400 ES 4x4 with 2000 miles, and ITP wheels on it. Anything in particular I should check or look at?

What kind are you gonna buy?

Not real sure. I may be able to get a Honda (see above post), depends on what the first guy in line decides. I should know by Tuesday. If it doesn't work out, I really don't have a preference. Something that I can still get parts for in a few years.

Guest Tusculum

I also prefer Hondas. I have a 1991 300 TRX 4X4 I bought new. I have put 3 batteries 2 spark plugs and 1 set of tires in 20 yrs. (believe it or not). I have been to Cumberland County deer hunting with it. I have rode that nasty atv trail in Erwin. Hauled or pulled many tons of firewood with it. It still runs as good as it always did. Yamahas,Suzukis, are probably just as good, as my youngest son raced these things until he developed at 21 years old the spine of a 60 yr old. He just bought a 13,000.00 KTMSX when his back went out so now it just sits in the basement, Anyway its all in how you take care of them and dont expect them to work like a 3/4 ton Dodge Cummins or a John Deere 4400. This is my OPO.

...dont expect them to work like a 3/4 ton Dodge Cummins or a John Deere 4400. This is my OPO.

Nah, I'd hope that my ATV ran well at least 30-40% of the time, with parts that weren't gold plated. :D:p

Seriously, I have a couple of bigger tractors to do heavier work with. I just need something that I can get down smaller trails and into spots that the other stuff can't get to as easily.

I have two Polaris quads. One is a Scrambler 500 4X4 and the other is a Trail Boss 325. I am not sure what a lot of miles on one is. Neither of mine have odometers.