Private Property

Ok so silly question but I really don't understand why state game laws apply to private property?

It seems to me that one should be able to control the animal activity and population control of their own private property.

Why can a wildlife agent give you a ticket for patrolling your own property with a weapon even though you haven't killed any game just bc it is hunting season. Im not a lawyer but I do question the legality of such actions???

Game animals belong to all of us, policed by the State.  So I do see a need for them to enforce game laws on private property.  But I do have an issue with them giving tickets when no law was broken.  Unless there are clear violations, then there should be no ticket, warnings maybe, if there is a perceived violation, but until a game law is broken there should be no citations.

• Like 1
2 hours ago, Rob White said:

Ok so silly question but I really don't understand why state game laws apply to private property?

It seems to me that one should be able to control the animal activity and population control of their own private property.

Why can a wildlife agent give you a ticket for patrolling your own property with a weapon even though you haven't killed any game just bc it is hunting season. Im not a lawyer but I do question the legality of such actions???

There has been some major over-reach with regard to wildlife enforcement in the last few years. Look up "open field doctrine". 

That said, I agree with @Omega in that a few bad apples will certainly spoil it for the rest of us. Look up why there's no hog season in TN.

You are permitted to manage some nuisance wildlife (small game) on your property provided they're causing damage to property or crops.  Some animals (deer in particular) require a nuisance permit issued by TWRA to cull them. 

• Like 1