Has your attitude towards guns changed?

Has your attitude towards guns changed since you began carrying? I have been carrying daily for over 8 years now. In the beginning the gun seemed somehow more important, putting it on was an act of risk that required a lot of thought.

Today I don't consider it much more than a cell phone. And the idea that a gov't somewhere would want to tell me whether and how and when I can carry makes about as much sense as telling me how I can use my cell phone.

• Replies 80
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Rabbi,

Im with you. I havent been carrying that long, and I do take it seriously but only to the extent to make sure its "safe". I feel as naked without it as I do my cell phone, but its definitely become a part of my daily routine to put it on in the morning much like brushing my teeth. It now surprises me when people look at me strange for carrying and where as before I kinda thought they were normal for being suspicious now I think they are weird for not carrying also.

Guest darkstar

I agree with everything said in this thread. At first I felt kind of, I dunno not self-conscious about it but, but I noticed it I guess. I was aware that I had a gun. Nowadays I feel like that when I don't I have one. It becomes second nature. And I certainly echo the thought of the government telling me whether I can or can't carry.

Guest nosnos

I've only been carrying for 3 months or so. I still have a hard time with anything on my hip. I do carry my pocket pistol all the time, however. I know it's kind of dumb to feel so self-conscious about a decent-sized gun. I just can't shake the feeling the EVERYONE can see it, even though I know nobody is ever looking that closely.

But I have been enjoying the feeling of knowing that I at least have a semi-decent way to defend myself if the need arise. I certainly can't imagine EVER going back to not carrying. It just seems crazy now.