Can I ask a momma question? Coupled with a what gun/will this gun work ?

So, I am very very new to all this, and in researching ammo for a SW Mod 38 that was given to me (revolver 5 shot, J frame, .38 SPL) I have come up with even more questions.

So mama's (and whomever) just hang with me, as I am overwhelmed, and all over the place, I know.  We all leave after Christmas to travel with my husband on business, but when I come home, I am coming home alone.  He will be back here or there for a week or two at a time until June. So I feel like I need to figure this all out, practice my butt off and be ready- if nothing else just to sleep better. 

So issue numero uno on my radar:

Assuming someone broke into our home, and was in my children's joint bedroom, I am afraid I would not fire for fear of hitting a child.  I don't mean for poor aim, not that, but the way the room is configured it would be door, them, a bed (one of two). If I shot intruder, is there a way to ensure the bullet would remain in them, and not travel any further?  I don't want it going through them and hitting my child. I could move their beds, I could, but it really disturbs sleep.  But that may be the only option and I am open to that so as to not worry.

I am going to the gun shop today, was supposed to go earlier, but got a bit delayed.  

Going in with issue number one, I am (trying) to develop criteria for my weapon+ammo:  If my Mod 38 fits it, great, if not- as much as I really love so much about this family gun (have not fired it yet) I would move on, and dear granny would be okay with that ;)

Ammo available that won't travel through a person.

Recoil limited to allow me to shoot for practice with enjoyment and again if needed.

It will stop a crackhead/meth head/heroine etc.

I can fire it accurately with practice. 

Concealable, I am not that small framed but my clothes fit well, I run, the J frame conceals almost completely but *I* can see it.

May or may not add to this list a laser.