Ham radio help

I would like to see if there is anyone around middle tn that could help learning ham radio. I have several baofeng and have only been able to pick up locale traffic like ems or sheriff. I have never been able to pick up anyone else. I have tried listening to repeaters but no luck. I have not taken my test for my licence yet but i am studying for it. 

29 minutes ago, ballz71 said:

I would like to see if there is anyone around middle tn that could help learning ham radio

Your best bet would be to seek out a local ham radio club and attend a meeting or two. Most clubs are full of old guys who love to talk and advise, and I know you can find some help. Being so near Nashville, you can easily find some help there.  I found the Sumner County Amateur Radio club website here:   https://www.scara.net/

What kind of receiver are you using?  There should be quite a bit of ham traffic on 40 meters after dark, and on 20 meters during the daylight hours. Since you're studying for your license I assume you know which parts of the bands are used for voice communications. Be sure your receiver is set to copy SSB transmissions. In the lower parts of those bands you should hear quite a bit of CW.

• Like 1

FYI most of the UHF/VHF traffic (70cm/2m) is on the area repeater systems 

Some examples 

Repeater    Frequency    Tone    Shift
Franklin – UHF    444.025 MHz    PL 110.9    +
Franklin – VHF (FOW)    145.150 MHz    PL 123.0    –
Fairview – VHF    145.130 MHz    PL 156.7    –
Brentwood – VHF    145.210 MHz    PL 173.8    –
Kirkland – UHF    443.875 MHz    PL 107.2    +
Murfreesboro - VHF 145.1700   PL  114.8      -
Woodbury, short mt - VHF 145.4900    PL 100  -

There is also 
Mount Juliet, - VHF 146.4150 
La Vergne - VHF 145.2300

lots more that I do not have in my notes like Lebanon, Watertown, and Davidson county. 

• 2 weeks later...
On 4/9/2021 at 5:46 AM, ballz71 said:

I have several baofeng and have only been able to pick up locale traffic