Want to buy a handgun for home protection,,,,,Need Help

Guest AgentWilliam

Guest AgentWilliam

I have spent about 20-30 hours researching and going to gun shops to feel and look at various handguns. I have dismissed revolvers! THrough online research and talking with various gun salesmen I have found myself so confused about what I need or should get. I do know that I want a gun that is basic enough that my wife could easily load and shoot if I was not at home.

I have been leaning towards a 9mm

If there is anyone who has an opinion or a gun they might want to sell to help protect my family let me know.

• Replies 126
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest Honest AK

I'm just getting into guns myself so keep that in mind when I give you my advice but FWIW...

I bought a used 9mm pistol for $325 and it's been fine for me to get started with. You don't necessarily have to buy something new and expensive.

With some instruction from a friend, I didn't have any problem learning how to load and operate it safely.

Of the different guns you've looked at, what is your favorite so far?

Wow I think you are going to have fun with this question.

The most basic and easiest to teach people how to shoot is a revolver. They are also great home defense guns as there is no fumbling if you pull it goes bang. You would have to decide on a caliber, the most common for HD is .38 or .357

The wide variety of autos out there is overwhelming. I would suggest you go to a range that rents guns or hook up with someone that has a collection that will let you try the different calibers styles and actions.

Your question is so vague, I dont believe you will get a single answer that you like.

May I ask why you've dismissed revolvers? They are one of the simplest handguns to handle and load......great for women that don't have much experience with a gun. Taurus even makes a 9mm revolver.