Tips for lapping a 1911 slide to frame?

I've recently purchased a Springfield Prodigy and everything I've read about them makes it sound like SA sprayed entirely too much Cerakote on the slide/frame. I've read multiple threads where it is highly recommended that the slide and frame are lapped up to a 800 or even 1200 grit compound.  I've never done this before.  I just purchased Brownell's 600/800 lapping compound set to do it myself. Does anyone have any tips for a first timer doing this? Any prep work I should know about? My plan is to simply tear the pistol down to just frame and slide, start w/ the 600, rack the slide while applying pressure in all directions, then when it feels like the 600 is "used up," I'll go to the 800 and do the same then spray it w/ brake cleaner to clean it all off, reassemble/oil, and test fire. Is this a sufficient plan? Thanks!

I have a tool with a wood handle and different sized suction cups on each end I’ve used to lap engine valves. You spin it back and forth between your palms. There’s not really a secret to lapping. You’re just removing material in places you can’t readily get a sanding block. You know you’re done when no dull areas are left.

Edited by gregintenn
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1
1 hour ago, Garufa said:

Why not just shoot it a bunch first to break it in?

$40 of lapping compound and the time to rack it while sitting on the couch with the wife watching whatever show she's watching vs. $400 in ammo and the time at the range.