Opinions on Kel-tec

Guest adurbin

Guest adurbin

Hello all. I recently purchased a P11 for my wife. After just two hundred rounds, the slide catch broke, and it will no longer load the first round from the mag. I have sent it back to Kel-Tec, and I am waiting to get it back. Everyone I speak to has very strong opinions either for, or against Keltec guns. I am contemplating selling it and getting her something else once I have it back. Post your opinions below, I would appreciate your thoughts, and they will help me with my decision. Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

They're not perfect, but neither is anyone else. Plenty of Glocks and Kimbers break too. Keltec's don't have the fit and finish of other guns, but they don't have the price tag either. I've no personal experience, but seems their customer service is very good. If you want to fix it yourself, piece parts are available cheap online direct from Keltec. My P3AT wasn't perfect when I got it, but after a little work it has been flawless. Given that I paid about half as much for it as an LCP, I'm happy.

My personal experience with Keltec was so bad that I won't ever buy another one. My P3AT completely failed at the range one day, and it occurred to me that, had I needed it when it counted, I might have been dead. I returned it to the factory, and when I got it back, I promptly sold it.

You get what you pay for.

Got a brand new PF-9 with a extraction problem (FTE more than half of the now 290 break-in brass ammo), 2 emails and 3 phone calls still no response. This doesn't look good for their customer service. I thought I could use it as a back up summer carry, now I'm hoping to get it sent into Kel-Tec & get it back before summer ends. :down: